www.instagram.com/anna_travelette

Bird´s eye perspective - some of my favourite plane window views

05.08.2020

Some people say it´s really annoying to be on long distance flights, but I definitely
ain´t one of those. I love flying, no matter how long it takes, especially when I´ve got a window seat so I can enjoy the view. No matter what´s down there, which weather we´ve got or what time of the day it is, I really enjoy just sitting there watching the clouds, staring at the city lights, enjoying a sunset, or watching the sea. 
At times like these, I miss flying a lot, so looking at this shots is also connected to a lot of memories. The following 4 shots are some that I captured on my flight from Auckland to Raratonga watching the sun go down. Looks pretty relaxing, huh? Actually I had to run through the whole airport as my flight from Sydney to Auckland was already late! So I hope you enoy my favourite airplane window views!

"It's only when you're flying above it that you realize how incredible the earth really is."

~ Philippe Perrin

4. Hongkong

In 2017 we found a really cheap flight from Europe to Fiji, so we absolutely wanted to travel there even though it took as like a really long time to get there as we needed to drive like 3 hours to Lubljana, fly to Amsterdam, stay there for another 3 hours, fly to Hongkong to stay there for 10 hours before flying to the Fiji Islands. Before landing in Hongkong we´ve already been on a pretty long journey, so I was quite tired, but this amazing sunset in combination with a spectacular view over the city and the surrunding area really paid it off. I did not expect Honkong to be surrunded by such green hills like you can see on the third shot, so I was really impressed by that aireal view even though I am usually not much of a city person! 

3. Zanzibar Island and Mount Kilimanjaro, Tanzania

After visiting Uganda, Kenia and Tanzania´s mainland by car to make some kind of roadtrip and check out some National Parks, we decided to take a flight to Zanzibar Island to enjoy the rest of our holiday at the beach! On our way back, we took a flight via Entebbe which gave us not only one, but two spectecular views as we´ve been first flying over Zanzibar and the surrunding islands so we could see all those different shades of turquoise water from above and like maybe an hour later the pilot told us to have a look at our right hand side as there´s a good chance that the famous mount Kilimanjaro might protrude out from the clouds! It was pretty funny to see that there was even snow on the peak as we´ve had over 30° celsius the whole holiday!

2. Raratonga and Aitutaki, Cook Islands

The Cook Islands - the country my dad always told me to visit one day - were finally a realistic option for a 3 week holiday as they were not too far (well compared to the distance from Europe) when I spent a couple of months in Australia. So flying there I thought I´d already know what to expect as my dad told me so many stories about that place and showed me some amazing pics, but seeing it in real life was even more impressive! I meen just look at the pics and imagine flying there knowing that you got the chance to spend some weeks there! I can still remember watching those gorgeous islands from above having a super bright smile - the one I usued to have at christmas when I was a little child!

1. Great Barrier Reef and Whitsunday Islands, Australia

Booking a socalled "scenic flight" in a little office at Airlie Beach was probably the best travel decision I made in Australia! Even though it was quite expensive for me that time (as I was backpacking and tried not to waste money at all), it was worth every cent! This flight was with a small plane with only around 7 seats, so lucky me I could sit right next to the pilot and enjoy a even better view on everything. I think the flight took not more than an hour, but we had the chance to see the Great Barrier Reef with the famous Heart Reef (picture number 4) as well as the Whitsunday Islands with Whitehaven Beach (known for its super white sand) which I visited some days later by sailing boat (another gorgeous experience, but it was hard to top this amazing flight)!

© 2021 anna_travelette Travel & Lifestyle Blog. All rights reserved.
Unterstützt von Webnode Cookies
Erstellen Sie Ihre Webseite gratis! Diese Website wurde mit Webnode erstellt. Erstellen Sie Ihre eigene Seite noch heute kostenfrei! Los geht´s